RA clicky or Nitecore Extreme??

mpkav

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys, new to the forum. I hope this topic hasn't been covered a million times. I'm a police officer and looking for a good small backup light to use at work. I own a number of surefires and use the pelican 7060 as my primary work light. Between the RA clicky and nitecore extreme which is better??Thanks!!

Lightraven

Flashlight Enthusiast
I use a Nightcore Extreme as my primary duty light, actually. I don't own a Ra. I have some bigger, brighter lights that I can grab when I know I'll need them, but the Extreme does fine for most things. Only slight drawback is the need to use both hands to change from bright to dim, or vice-versa.

streetmaster

Enlightened
I've had an Extreme, it's a great light. But I also currently own a Ra Clicky EDCE 120. I strongly recommend the Clicky. It's tougher, and easier to switch modes/brightness. One button, no twisting required.

mpkav

Newly Enlightened
seems to be a lot of clicky fans out there. Does anyone have any bad experiences with the nitecore??

Strauss

Flashlight Enthusiast
Go for the Clicky. Since this will be your backup light, ultimate brightness and/or throw will not be a concern. The Clicky is much tougher and can personally tell you they can handle TONS of abuse. It also provides easy one-handed operation with very nice low modes for close up tasks.

The Clicky's are an amazing light for the money. Pair that with great customer service backing the product and you got a winner!

NoFair

Flashlight Enthusiast
As a backup light I'd take the clickie or tactical from Ra.

The Nitecore is very good and I'd prefer it as a primary light using a 17670 in a 2 cell Surefire body.

Sverre

Toaster

Enlightened
Nitecore Extreme due to it's KISS UI. Can't accidentally switch modes with inadvertent presses of the switch in stressful situations.

Dead_Nuts

Enlightened