Good driver for MC-E?

The Rat

Newly Enlightened
Can anybody recomend a decent driver for an MC-E? I am building a desk-light for my office, and I need a method of powering the MC-E constantly. The ability to dim the brightness would be nice as well. I am a Structural Engineer, but do not have much experence with circuits.

On the same note, what is a good driver for a XR-E, for the same application?

I have a large assortment of DC power adapters that I can use to power the LED Driver module if nessesary.

Thanks!!! :grin2:

The Rat

Newly Enlightened
I have a 12V Radio Shack desktop power supply that can output 200 watts. I think it is regulated. This would be my ideal power source.

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
In a flashlight application, I've used an SOB1000 and an SOB1227 to drive an MC-E wired in 2S2P. I've used two battery combinations: 2xLi-ion (nominally, let's say 7.6V) and 4xSF123A (nominally, let's say 10V). The SOB buck board can handle up to 16V, so it should work with your 12V power supply.

At those drive levels, you should make sure that you devise an effective way to draw the heat away from the LED and from the driver board. The LED is demanding about 6.6W to 8W of power and dissipating most of it as heat. The board has to generate more power than that because it isn't 100% efficient. The board may dissipate another 1W-2W of power as heat.

mudman cj

Flashlight Enthusiast
Where corn and pigs are grown unimpeded by trees