Looking for advice on Lithium batteries

Velcro

Enlightened
Hello,

I own a Mag-Lite 3D which lately, I've been using very rarely. About a year ago, I replaced the old batteries with fresh new Duracell Ultra's. Then, after six months or so of using the light very rarely (not even more then 10 minutes total) the beam became very dim and was pretty much useless.

I know that alkalines slowly fade as the batteries age, and I've heard that lithium batteries stay bright until they die.

Basically what I want is to be able to store my Mag-Lite for longer periods, and still have it's full power available for emergency use. So the first thing that comes to my mind is using lithium batteries.

I've never used lithiums before, so I would like to know more about them such as pros and cons, power, output, etc. Thanks in advance!

Greetings,
Velcro

axolotls

Enlightened
I have the same problems as you do. In fact, I pulled out my multimeter yesterday for my 3-D Mag and it showed the batteries at 1.4,1.4 and .4 Volts each?! And I know I put fresh Energizer's in there at the beginning of the year and only used it during a blackout for 15 minutes at most.

This is what I do know, I stand the Mag on it's reflector and unscrew the tail-cap and put it next to each other.

I know this might cause problems if I grab the light and the batteries fall out. But the dim bulb scenario is annoying and not practical.

But since I have and E2 and a supply of 123's I am slightly less annoyed at the mag.

Anyone else have a solution or the same problem.

mad.gif

Brock

Flashaholic