What's your cycle?

flilow06

Newly Enlightened
So I scratched the first case of the candlebug. I've been lurking these forums for quite some time and finally bought a Jetbeam II Pro IBS for starters. The size : power ratio of this thing amazes me... and being a newbie I'm sure I have a lot to learn of how it actually stacks up against the rest. I get lost for hours browsing thru threads in the custom forum. :popcorn:

Forgive the long intro... what this thread is really about. As I'm learning how to use the menu settings I'm spending some time thinking about how to best program the light. I haven't really seen a thread on this in the general sense.

What is your selection for the priority and brightness of the cycles in your light? I know each light is different, some more simple and some more complex. But generally speaking, what do you consider most important and most convenient? Do you find that you set the first click as medium, second as high, third as low, etc.? Or maybe first click is max, second as medium-low, and third as medium...

Oh, and does anyone use the strobe or safety settings?

Last edited:

StarHalo

Flashaholic
Re: What's your cycle?!

I have a pair of IBS-equipped JetBeams, both are set minimum/high-as-you-can-get-without-overheating/maximum. I use an infrared thermometer to set the middle mode, aiming to get the battery tube temperature to level off right around 120F. This means the last two modes are somewhat close to one another, but it's nice to have a high output mode you can just set and forget without worrying about melting anything.

The strobes menu has only been used for showing off thus far, but the 15hz strobe is a crowdpleaser every time.

Scourie

Enlightened
Re: What's your cycle?!

My preference is for medium-low-high. It's rare that I need high, so this helps to preserve battery runtime.

Rob

s.c.

Newly Enlightened