Good light for clubbing people?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottm

Newly Enlightened
I looked at a few of the self-defense threads, didn't find what I'm after. I'm an airline pilot, I can't carry much that's useful for self-defense. My 4D and 4C Maglights are retired after threats to confiscate from TSA. I like my old 3C Maglight, would like something like that in LED. I have an old bicycle innertube on my Maglight, an old maintenance trick to make it more waterproof and grippy. A thin rope (parachute cord) wrapped around the barrel under the bicycle tube gives it some texture, and makes a nice lanyard at the head end. So, I'm not worried about grip or feel, just something durable.

I have two Rayovac Sportsman Extreme 3C, 4W lights. Nice lights, but both failed at solder joints, kinda flimsy construction when I dissected them. Bright, good beam, and good price.

I can't use rechargeable batteries, not allowed. Lithium C-cells would be nice if available. Backup will be a Fenix LD01, which I need to buy because I lost mine in DFW last week.:mecry:

Disclaimer: I'm not actually planning on clubbing anyone, or using a flashlight as a landing light.

And yes I plan to do the FFDO program, but I turn in my gun in foreign countries, which is where I fly to.

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is an old text, but still good. It has some flashlight selection guidance. You'll have to generalize it to today's selections.

John Peters
Defensive Tactics With Flashlights
Publisher: Reliapon Police Products
ISBN 0-923401-02-4

Besides mechanical strength and no rechargeable batteries, what illumination selection criteria do you have, if any?

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast
You want a light that's good for clubbing people, but you don't intend to club anyone with it?

Maybe you should just get a small light and pretend it's big?

Illum

Flashaholic