Pelican 7060 tail-cap modification

dftc

Newly Enlightened
I have had a Pelican 7060 for about a year now. I like the brightness but I'm unimpressed with the design. Especially the tail-cap switch. It is not recessed in any useful way and it is waaaay too touchy. I don't use the tail-cap switch myself because I don't like holding the light by the tail-cap when shooting (and I can't figure out any other reason to use it). If there is some way to disable the switch that would be great. Even better would be a way to replace the switch with a solid tail-cap.

Also, I'm a Police Officer so my point of view is going to be based on using the light in the field under sometimes less-than-ideal conditions.

I know that the LAPD wanted a plastic light because they didn't want Officers hitting people with metal. As such, the light is not intended to be used as a back-up impact weapon. I get that. However, any Officer who works at night knows that sometimes you get into fights when you are holding onto your light. It's my opinion that if you have something in your hand during a fight it might as well be something useful. The light has no weight to it, (which is great for normal carry but not good for whacking people) but if it at least had a better tail-cap then I could use that as an impact point during a struggle.

Does anyone know of a way to replace the tail-cap, or modify it so that the switch is more recessed? Heck, I'd be OK with simply disabling the tail-cap switch so it wouldn't turn on every time I sit down in the car.

ANDREAS FERRARI

Flashlight Enthusiast