Advice needed on bright LED choice...

LukeK

Enlightened
Hello everyone,

I wasn't sure which forum I should post this in, but I ultimately picked this one since this does deal directly with LED choice. I am new to this so, please, bear with me. I have completed projects with LED's in the past, but this will be my first project involving high powered LED's.

I am going to modify a Mag-Lite flashlight to use a bright white LED. I want a flashlight that is very bright, with good throw and decent alkaline battery life. Originally I was planning on purchasing a cluster of lower power LED's but eventually I settled on one high powered LED. I am very interested in the Luxeon V Star (portable) line of LED's and after extensive research I have one question:

Is this an appropriate choice of LED for this project or would it be considered overkill at all -- is there a better choice? Also, what add-on optics should I look into to tighten the beam?
Thank you for your time, I appreciate it.

Luke K

jtice

Flashaholic
Well, first off. What size Mag?

Mini Mag? -->>> Madmax or Badboy Q3L. = Very bright, good runtime for the brightness, comes with new optics.

Larger Mag? -->>> the only mods I have seen are very expensive.

Unless,,, you are talking about building your own stuff, instead of just dropping in a mod.
In that case, I have heard that the Madmax and Badboy converter boards are great.

http://www.anlighten.com/shop/default.php?manufacturers_id=10

LukeK

Enlightened
Sorry -- forgot to mention the size. I'm planning on using a Mag-Lite with D Cell Batteries. But here is where I get to a dilemma. I'm wondering if I should go for the large 5-D Maglite or just use AA battery compartments with a shorter 2-D Mag....choices, choices.

Luke

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
welcome to the board! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif