Newbie Needs Some Advice

Brian5

Newly Enlightened
I wanna start out by saying HI :wave: to everyone as I am obviously new here.

I am very interested in buying an LED flashlight. I LOVE the Surefire E1B but being a newbie I'm hesitant to spend the $120 or so for it. I just found the Fenix PD20 and saw that is about half the price. Does the Fenix PD20 even compare to the Surefire E1B? Is the $ spent on the Surefire worth it or is there a comparable one to it @ a lower price?

Any input would be greatly appreciated - thanks in advance

fishx65

Enlightened
I don't have one yet but it sounds like one of the Solarforce L2's would be a solid first purchase. $25.00!!!!!!

Zeruel

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:
Both are great lights in their own right. They'll be people who prefer one over another, it boils down what YOU want and need.
I suggest you do some reading up on threads like this and this for PD20, and this and this for E1B, and you'll probably draw a conclusion on your choice. The search is your best pal here.

Niconical

Enlightened
The Fenix flashlights are good quality and well respected on the forum.

However, more than price there are 2 other fundamental differences to consider.

1. The Surefire E1B has a forward clicky switch. This means that as you start to depress it, the light comes on, you can then hold it there for a few seconds (or longer of course) for temporary light without actually clicking it in fully at all. As soon as you let go, it goes off. You also have the option of clicking it in fully to lock it on. The Fenix is the opposite, it doesn't come on until fully clicked, then goes briefly off (or change mode) with a soft press. I used to be not too bothered by this, but I've now reached the point where a forward clicky is a must and a reverse clicky (like the Fenix) is a dealbreaker.

2. The Fenix has multiple modes, including strobe and SOS. The E1B is simpler, starts on high, soft press to switch to low and back again.