2nd Best Thrower after DEFT

MTL-TL

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone

Im new to CPF. I've learned alot in the past 3 days here but i'd still need some help from you guys ...

What would the the 2nd best thrower led flashlight after the DEFT ?
its not that i dont like DEFT but its a bit over budget for me + the CAD exchange rate...

I know it may sound ironic but i wanna know what are the 2 best throwers after DEFT even if their prices are close to DEFT ....

thank you in advance...

qip

Flashlight Enthusiast
i think some sort of aspheric mag or a tiablo A9 with aspheric head

Mjolnir

Flashlight Enthusiast
You could take a look at the Tiablo A9 with the aspheric head.
If you don't need an LED thrower, the Stanley HID would probably be the cheapest HID option, and would beat basically any LED thrower.

MrGman

Flashlight Enthusiast
From what I have seen so far I would go with the Tiablo A10 as a normal well focused beam flashlight with a great hot spot and some spill and not any of the single lense aspheric type systems. They waste too much of the total light output to give you that high contrast hot spot. I was looking at a couple on mags the other night and the bright spot was not any better than my A10, it simply had more contrast to the dark area around it where as mine had lots of useful spill and what I thought to be a brighter beam in the center anyway.

The true optimum aspheric systems need the smaller lens right in front of the die to focus up as much useful light as possible and put it in the center of the big aspheric lens. Without it a lot of the light is wasted and what does come out the front to me doesn't look impressive at all. It just has that high contrast ratio so the brain is fooled into thinking its a really great hot spot. Next to the A10 it was ugly.