Anything w/more bang 4 the buck than the EagleTac P100A2?

CaliColin

Newly Enlightened
Long time lurker. Looking for a bright 2xAA with simple interface (don't need more than 2 modes). Willing to sacrifice runtime. A bright hotspot is key. I'm a newbie so complex custom mods are not my thing. For $40 shipped, this puppy seems like a bargain. People who seem to know a lot about lights seem to like it. Anything else I should be looking at?

Outdoors Fanatic

Flashlight Enthusiast
Long time lurker. Looking for a bright 2xAA with simple interface (don't need more than 2 modes). Willing to sacrifice runtime. A bright hotspot is key. I'm a newbie so complex custom mods are not my thing. For $40 shipped, this puppy seems like a bargain. People who seem to know a lot about lights seem to like it. Anything else I should be looking at?
I highly doubt it. Just go ahead and pull the trigger...

Wilkerson Brasil

Newly Enlightened
I have a P100A2. Great light for this price. The beam of this light with new cree X-PE is very good. Not so many artifacts as XR-E. Good throw.
You will not believe in what a good 2xAA flashlight can do.

Cons: low mode is too hi.

You can´t go wrong

BigBluefish

Flashlight Enthusiast
The only other 2 x AAs at about that pricepoint or below with 2 modes and a bright hotspot would be the Fenix L2T v2 ($49 before cpf discount) and the Romisen RC-N3 Q5 II from Shiningbeam, at I think about $26. The L2T will not be as bright on hi as the EagleTac, but still pretty darn bright, and the lo is much lower, and you will get better runtime on both levels than the EagleTac. The RC-N3 will be not as bright on hi, and maybe about the same brightness on lo, wirh I think, better runtime on both levels.

The Eagletac may very well have the smoothest beam, and be the most rugged of the three.