Just got my macbook, need suggestions.

lasercrazy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just got my macbook and I was wondering what anti spyware and anti virus software I should use on it if any? I have no experience with macs so any help is appreciated.

Dan FO

Enlightened
I just got my macbook and I was wondering what anti spyware and anti virus software I should use on it if any? I have no experience with macs so any help is appreciated.

None, just set your updates for daily and do any security updates when they come in.

I have a MacBook Pro and a 1 week old aluminum MacBook. I have been running Macs for years and never use anti virus software.

winston

Enlightened
None, just set your updates for daily and do any security updates when they come in.

I have a MacBook Pro and a 1 week old aluminum MacBook. I have been running Macs for years and never use anti virus software.

Yep.

If you wanted to go that extra mile, there's ClamXav. It's open-source, which is cool.

I'd steer clear of anything by Norton.

-Winston

monkeyboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't run AV on my macs and have never had any problems so far. If you're really paranoid or if you share files with windows PCs, you can try ClamXav which you can download for free (although, I'm not sure if its updated anymore). But having said that, I know people who run ClamXav and never found a single virus.

EDIT: winston beat me to it!

mechBgon

Enlightened