Care and feeding of a Neon sign?

NeonLights

Flashlight Enthusiast
Does anyone know anything about Neon signs? I just bought my first one yesterday (for the Dodge Neon, it is a neon Neon sign, get it?), and have it hanging out in my shop. It will see temperature extremes from about 100°F in the summer to 0°F in the winter. Is it ok to leave the sign out in the cold weather, basically year 'round? Is any special maintenance needed for Neon signs? What is the expected life span of an average Neon sign, maybe in hours of runtime. Sorry for all of the questions, but I'm completely new to Neon lighting, and I figure someone on here has to know something.

-Keith

Saaby

Flashaholic
I think Neon lights are more or less just like flouressent lights only with different gases and phosphers. Not the exact same thing, mind you, but closely related.

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
Assuming a properly installed, loaded and cared for sign, most sign shops will quote you a lifespan of 30k hours, or three and a half years of 24/7 use. A life span as long as 80k hours is not uncommon though. Some colors use phosphors which die a lot faster than the raw neon tube colors. Older green tubes have a very short life, down to 20% of their output in as little 8k hours. But there is a new green phosphor they are using now that will stay above 80% for the same length as the life of the tube.

EDIT: fixed horrible grammar, spelling and general illegibility...

NeonLights

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's good to know that it should last that long. I only plan on having it lit up maybe 5-10 hours a week normally, so hopefully it will last many years for me. Thanks for the info.

-Keith

eluminator

Flashlight Enthusiast
I believe the pink neon lights have no phosphor. That's just the color you get from the neon gas. If I'm wrong I'm sure I will be quickly educated.

Chris M.

Flashlight Enthusiast