ARC LSL or Surefire E1E/KL1

droopy170

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,
Newbie here and have been lurking around to find info. With Fathers day coming up I convinced the wife it was time for a new toy, I mean tool yea that's it. Decided I had enough knives(at least till next week).Any way I have narrowed down my choices for my first high-end light to the LSL (package ARC has on sale)or E1E/KL1. I would appreciate the experts thoughts and views on which to start with. The E1 definately has the cool look thing down, but the LSL seems to be a bit better in preformance. Does the KL1 make the E1E equivelent? Are there any dealers that support the forum that you would reccomend? Thanks for any help./ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bowdown.gif
Droopy

dtsoll

Enlightened
Droopy,
Definately not an experts opinion but I think you need both /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif The benefit of the E1e/Kl1 is that you would have the incandescent option. I also like the Arc LS although mine is a LSH-P. I can't comment on the LSL-P cause I don't have one yet? The sale Peter has is very tempting but I must restrain myself, if I can that is. It is a good deal. Now I'll let the experts chime in. Good luck. dtsoll

chamenos

Flashlight Enthusiast
droopy: the LSL has a flood-type beam, whereas the LSH has a more focused hotspot for longer throw. i would go for the LSL package if i were you, for a number of reasons:

1. the arc LS is guaranteed waterproof to 50 feet whereas the surefire E1e is advertised as weatherproof. according to my experience, the surefire E series lights tend to be a little less consistant and reliable in terms of water-resistance. my arc LSH-P has been submerged to a depth of about 2 metres and did not leak at all.

2. the arc LS's regulator is about 85-90% efficient, whereas in the KL1 the effiency is about 70-80% if i'm not wrong...someone please correct me if i am. this would mean more output or runtime per battery.