1-light stage manager gift dilemma

Saaby

Flashaholic
I've done plenty of stage work and I would recommend a Luxon Light over an E2. Heck, I'd even recommend a Arc AAA over the E2. In my experience stage work is 99% up close (as far as light is concerned) If she's been getting along with the minimag, a LS light will be a big improvement.

I've never "been" or "done" stage manager stuff though, in fact I'm usually not even backstage, so you might wait for more opinions before making the final decision.

Tree

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been a stage manager many times. Sabby is right, most of the work is up close and needs to be bright enough to read scripts, but dim enough to not interfere with the stage show. But it helps to be able to see the catwalk, or a flying grid/truss system from the ground. Also to be able to get some ones attention from across the stage/backstage area.

How about get an E2e or a G2 and the Opalec new beam LED replacement for her mini mag. This way she can have both an up close reading light (Opalec) and a search the catwalk from the stage light (E2e/G2). She'll probably use the Opalec the most and keep it on her, then she can keep the E2e/G2 in her bag when she needs more light. This will also give her a choice to see what kind of light she would utilize the most.

Best yet, if time allows the Surefire A2 would be the ideal solution. 3 LED's and an E2 type lamp, switchable between the two and regulated to get the most out of the batteries. Unfortunately it's not scheduled to arrive for a few months.

mahoney

Enlightened