LED Bulb for 3 D Maglite?

recDNA

Flashaholic
I'm a new member so I'm not sure this is the correct thread to post this question. If not, I apologize.

Anyway, I've always loved flashlights but I was amazed to find out so many others do too! I'm also surprised how expensive good LED flashlights are.

I've seen ads for LED's that can be used as replacement bulbs in my 3 D cell Maglite. I'd like the Maglite's ability to focus or widen its beam and I haven't seen that in flashlights designed for LED's.

Is there a good LED bulb that I can use in my Maglite? How many lumens may I expect? Why do so few flashlights designed for LED's use D cells anyway?

Thanks for your patience. I'm new to all this.

recDNA

Flashaholic
I guess I can't just plug in an LED...I need some kind of KIT? Is that right?

paintballdad

Enlightened
Hi there and :welcome:.
It all depends on what your looking for and how much you're willing to spend. LED conversions for the Mag range from $10 1watt LEDS which is roughly the same brightness of a incan Mag to about $120 for a Malkoff P7 drop in which requires a cut down reflector. The Malkoff is really bright at over 700 lumens compared to a stock incan Mag at about 20-30 lumens. I have a Malkoff 2-3 cell Mag drop in and a Terralux TLE-300 conversions and they brought new life to the otherwise dull incan Mag. You can check out this thread for more info.

http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=193434

Vinniec5

Enlightened
There's alot of drop-ins avail from the guys here and alot of factory over-the-counter drop-ins avail. I think someone made a thread with a big list of whats avail. I have a load of mags and changed most of them to Terralux leds I'm happy with them. They aren't the brightest compared to the light cannons the guys here have but IMO are very good and plenty bright with good battery savings and most are under $25 bucks online

recDNA

Flashaholic