Acrylic or Perspex

Sober

Newly Enlightened
Hi There,

I need some help with a red lens filter for a P7 m@g.

I am currently using Acrylic/Perspex that is about 2.5mm thick and its kills the throw on the m@g.

Should I try a thinner lens or is there another way to get around this?

I was thinking of some thin red film that I can stick onto clear glass or something.

Regards :confused:

Packhorse

Flashlight Enthusiast
Im no expert in this field ( or any other ) but surely its more to do with the lack of red a P7 can produce.
Wouldnt you be better off with a red XR-E. Less power and more output post filter.

Sober

Newly Enlightened
Im no expert in this field ( or any other ) but surely its more to do with the lack of red a P7 can produce.
Wouldnt you be better off with a red XR-E. Less power and more output post filter.

I used the same red filter with the original incan setup, the P7 is alot brighter than the incan, I will try these "GEL SHEETS" and see how they perform.

Regards

saabluster

Flashlight Enthusiast
I used the same red filter with the original incan setup, the P7 is alot brighter than the incan, I will try these "GEL SHEETS" and see how they perform.

Regards

Packhorse is right. Forget what you are trying to do. Leaving only the red from white LEDs is about the worst way to get a red light. Just use a red LED to begin with.

Illum

Flashaholic

LEDs lack Red and Green...while having an abundant blue in the field.
While there will be light coming through the red filter its not very useable:thinking:

the P7 on spot focus might actuallt melt though a dark enough filter paper much like infrared light from incandescent, but in this case absorption of the colored spectrum

saabluster

Flashlight Enthusiast
mind you, there is no colored P7s yet :huh: