First nice light - Fenix P3D/PD30 vs. L2D/LD20

burns

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here and your knowledgeable advice is appreciated. I'm a newb w/ lights. My best light, currently, is a Brinkman I bought a few years ago at Walmart. I use Surefire SF123A batteries in it. It's bright enough (though it wouldn't hurt to go brighter) and it just eats through batteries.

I'm planning on buying a couple of lights. First, I want to buy an all around light for all around use including camping, bumps in the night, or carrying in my jacket pocket. I'm thinking of the Fenix P3D/PD30, or the L2D/LD20.

These two seem to suit my needs. The big question here is battery type. Should I go with the P, utilizing a 123 battery, or the L w/ AA batteries? It appears that the P is a bit brighter and the L runs a bit longer. I'm thinking that the deciding factor for me is going to be cost. So, my big question is, which is more cost effective? Quality AA's or 123's?

I'm also going to buy a light for my AR at some point. From what I've read I'll probably go with one of the lights listed above, or perhaps the TK10 or TK11. Do you need to use 123's in a weapons light or are AA's ok?

Another option would be to buy the Fenix P or L for now, and put it on my AR later, after buying a smaller single battery EDC light.

Your thoughts?

Retral

Newly Enlightened
Well, IMO the L2D (and its newer counterpart) are too long to be practical. I've got a P3D myself and it's a pretty awesome light, but I wish it were something nicer like a 4 mode programmable (two modes on each loose and tight bezel mode).

After I got this, I kind of wanted to get myself a P2D for 1x 123a (and a L1d tube for it for 1xAA usage), but I'm not willing to spend $60 on a flashlight (I got my P3D for $22 from the 4sevens memorial day sale).