What is the Purpose of a "Pure" Thrower???

recDNA

Flashaholic
This question is really directed to everybody.

I am a newbie here although I find the subject fascinating. Flashlights have been a favorite "toy" since I was a kid.

Anyway, if anybody is in the mood to explain what I'm sure is obvious to you, what purpose is served by a flashlight that is a pure "thrower"? I like a wide flood that covers as much distance as possible but I can't understand the purpose of a lighting a 12 inch section of a tree from 300 yards away while the ground in between is a dark mystery?

It's hard to ask that question without sounding disrespectful to thrower fans and I really am not. I just am curious about the point of it? I could see it at sea as a signal light but on land I don't get the purpose?

Saint_Dogbert

Enlightened
Well, if you think if it like a searchlight, it's good for spotting targets or objects at long range where the intervening ground isn't important. Think like search and rescue maybe...also, a very throwy light will penetrate fog or smoke more effectively than a floody light, particularly if it uses a cool-tinted LED, which can struggle somewhat in low-visibility conditions. Personally, I prefer more of a balance, not too much of either throw or flood.

jzmtl

Flashlight Enthusiast
Mostly for people to take it outside, go "ohh, ahh" for a while, and put back in storage till next time.

applevision

Flashlight Enthusiast
Most people do this with most of their lights.. :grin2:

It's an oft-discussed point around here, but still important.

I think that I've changed a lot over the last few years on CPF. I went through a phase initially where I wanted "Maximum Throw" and now I too seek different types of balance depending on the task/purpose of the light.