AA replacement for p1dce q5 as EDC

heathen

Newly Enlightened
I have been edcing a Fenix p1dce q5 for a couple of years now but have been thinking about a AA or possibly AAA light as a replacement. Or if there is a single cr123 light that is great enough I might be convinced to stay with that battery type.

I love the low and high modes of the Fenix (supposed to be 16 and 95 lumens). So I need at least two modes with similar output, with any extra output being a bonus. I also like the small size but a slightly larger light is okay. I also think the beam is about perfect on the Fenix. Pretty good spill with a nice hot spot for decent throw. On my dream light I would want similar output as the Fenix, with a low low also, and of course a super bright high would be cool too if not as useful. Also a clip for using the light clipped to a hat brim, also good throw and long runtime ( I'm not asking for much I know. LOL). Clicky or twisty, doesn't really matter to me. I'm looking to spend $150 or less.

I've been looking at the Nitecore D10 and the EZAA. Will the output, runtime, and beam of these two lights compare favorably with the Fenix? I Like the UI on these lights as well, but don't necessarliy love the Fenix's UI. Are there any other lights I should look at? Are there any single cr123a lights that meet most or all of my wishlist criteria? If so it might convince me to stay with a single 123 light.

I call upon your infinite knowledge and wisdom! Thanks for any help in draining my wallet.:D

StarHalo

Flashaholic
Just go with the LD10/20, it's essentially the same as what you have now, with the clicky interface. I also EDCed a P1 for some time and found myself wanting a clicky; so when I switched to an L1D it was just what I was looking for. And the clicky is much faster and easier to use than the P1D's twisty, you'll be glad you made the switch.

half-watt

Flashlight Enthusiast