900 lumen question

Lightcopoholic

Newly Enlightened
Hi there I'm new to this stuff so be gentle. Anyway I just bought the "Small Sun Zy-C56" from Ebay for under $50.00. It is reported to be 900 lumen. I know that it probably isn't. It is very bright though. I know it has a Cree in it but I don't know which one. It runs on 3 D cells. I put my MagCharger battery in it and the light turned blue. I panicked and turned it off.
I know my 20 year old SureFire 6P with the 290 lum l.e.d conversion is darn near as bright.
Is it possible I fried part of the l.e.d when I put the mag battery in?
If I can figure out how to disasseble it and i.d. the Cree I'll advise.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

MrGman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi there I'm new to this stuff so be gentle. Anyway I just bought the "Small Sun Zy-C56" from Ebay for under $50.00. It is reported to be 900 lumen. I know that it probably isn't. It is very bright though. I know it has a Cree in it but I don't know which one. It runs on 3 D cells. I put my MagCharger battery in it and the light turned blue. I panicked and turned it off.
I know my 20 year old SureFire 6P with the 290 lum l.e.d conversion is darn near as bright.
Is it possible I fried part of the l.e.d when I put the mag battery in?
If I can figure out how to disasseble it and i.d. the Cree I'll advise.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

You didn't mention what the output of your magcharger battery pack is supposed to be. A lot of people may know this but others don't keep track of maglight stuff.

Your LED is probably ruined. If you can try it with 3 cells like its supposed to run and see what happens and tell us that it makes white light that would be good.

I can tell you right now it was never going to make 900 lumens and your SureFire 6P with an LED conversion head doesn't make 290 either if its a single Cree LED in the head. If its a quad LED like a P7 then it could make 300 lumens, but I think you were refering to a single die type module.