Air conditioner question(s)

PlayboyJoeShmoe

Flashaholic
In years past, and now starting today the inside AC coils are freezing up. ALL the hot days prior to today no problem.

At this point it takes maybe 30 minutes to get ice and 15 minutes of fan only to clear it.

Why? What could have changed that fast? Once it was because the outside units contactor got melted closed but right now the outside unit is going off ok.

WHY???

raggie33

*the raggedier*
ive heard of folks stealing freon to get high.not sure if i belive it but in this world i dont doubt it

Lite_me

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm no expert, but you're probably low on refrigerant. That can cause that fer sure. You'll need to have it checked to find out for sure tho.

5.0Trunk

Enlightened
Funny this came up. Back in April, the weather went from nice to 95 degrees and we turned on our air. It was Saturday and the house was nice a cool. Sunday came, when we left the house in the morning, everything was still nice and cool but when I came home later in the evening, the house was very, very warm. I could still here the compressor running outside but nothing was coming out of any vents. Come to find out when the system is low on refrigerant, the coil when freeze up and that's what happen to mine. The AC guy had to put 3 pounds of refrigerant in and everything is working fine. Well last week, same thing, no air coming out of the vents. AC guy came out and detected a refrigerant leak inside the house at the coil. I just had a new coil put in and after $1,100.00, everything is working fine.
Sounds like you may be low on refrigerant and hopefully it just needs a refill.

jugg2

Enlightened
I work at an A/C company as a technician< and I have been around this stuff since I was like 10, so let me ask you a few questions...

1 what temperature are you trying to keep the house

2 what does the indoor (evaporator) coil look like, dirty or clean and shiny

3 have you ever had to add freon to the system before?