Uk Vizion headlamp upgrade??

anthonytsi

Newly Enlightened
Have there been any attempts at upgrading the emitter in the UK Vizion headlamp?
I love mine but wish it were a little brighter.
It looks like one that would be easy to modify but I am a newbie so this is why I ask.
Thanks

half-watt

Flashlight Enthusiast
How old is your Vizion? I have an older one, but recently purchased a new one with supposedly more output (29lm v. 51lm). Haven't compared them side-by-side, nor measured light output. Brightguy.com sells them both if you are interested in comparing specs. It's still a 3xAAA light, so I would question the wisdom of attempting to get more output than the 51lm unless a much shorter burntime is not objectionable. Generally, a HL's burntimes are intended to be a bit different than most handheld lights.

anthonytsi

Newly Enlightened
If you do a comparison between the two you have, please let me know if you think the newer version is bright enough to warrant buying the new one.
Thanks in advance.

regulator

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi half-watt. I would be interested in you impression of the new revised UK compared to the old model. I almost bought one when they first came out but held off.

It has been a while since I bought my first headlamp (a PT fuel 15 lumen). There have been some nice improvements since then. Even the new Fuel is interesting at 43 lumens (now with 4 LED's)! PT and Petzl have some nice improved models as well. Higher output is nice but I like that you can dial output down to get longer runtime and still have decent output.

tnuckels

Enlightened
SSC-P9 measures 5x3.9mm while the SSC-P4 is 8x5.08mm (see the Spec. PDFs down the respective pages, on the right). Guestimating from the picture, the Vizion's holder only looks to be about 7.5mm across, though there may be other ways to mount the LED. At least there's no reflector to mess with, just an optic.

Are current production P9s more powerful than the one in the original Vizion HL?