Night race

mikkowus

Newly Enlightened
A few weekends from now, I am intending on participating in a 15 hour-130 mile canoe race. Obviously, it will be an all night thing. Last year we used a mag-led and a night rider trailrat combo. The mag being on at all times and the night rider turned on in bad spots. They both sucked. The setup was far too heavy fo the output.

Im looking for something that will last 7 hours, and have at least 200 lumens. I understand the nightrider put out 190 or so and it was plenty bright. my budget is probably around 100$ but if needed i could go up to 200.

I was thinking of getting something from DX such as http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12060 but I don't know if i could trust it not to overheat running for 7 hours.

I am a total newbie to this lighting thing. Any advice would be helpful.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
1st: these cheapos are crap.
even more crap when You need them withstand canoeing

2nd: 1*18650 can power a quad-led for 45 mins.
I dont think You want to change batts often?

3rd: single die led is bright enough for me to do mtb trail riding, good lights give some 200+ lumen for a bit over 2 hours here.

My advise were: a headlamp like Streamlight Argo HP, which You feed with an 17650 cell.
When not coming with a new led already, change the Luxeon to a Seoul or Cree. Very easy emitter swap-thing

For medium power, a 1*18650 handheld from a respected maker. Models like Jetbeam Jet III Pro Ultra, or Fenix TK11, oder Shiningbeam L-mini II, ...

For real power, a 2*18650 handheld with a quad-led.
Jetbeam M1X were the perfect one, but too expensive with all the other lights and short runtime (but better than the joke with a 1*18650 and quad),