Looking for light recommendations and help

abrjoh61

Newly Enlightened
I am an automotive student soon to be an automotive technician. I've been struggling with bad lighting for a while and I would like to get a good flashlight that is going to hold up in the element of an automotive shop. After watching some reviews on YouTube, a user by the name Nutnfancy mentioned Candle Power Forums a couple times so I figured this would be the best place to get some recommendations on finding an appropriate light.

I'm open to any recommendations that anyone thinks I should take a look at, but I also have some things that I am looking for. Preferably, I would like a light that is short and fairly thin, which would probably operate on a single battery. Something like a Fenix L1T (I've done some looking already but still have no idea what I'm looking for specifically). It doesn't have to be anything fancy like an L1D with 6 modes of output. 2 or 3 levels of brightness would be nice. Also, some tyle of tail cap button would be best for one handed operation.

I will look at any suggestions and recomendations and any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

lrp

Flashlight Enthusiast
I recall somewhere that a mechanic had a Nitecore D10 and really liked it!! I think it is an awesome light that runs on a AA or 14500 and has no rubber switch cover that would be nice in a garage imo!

abrjoh61

Newly Enlightened
I actually kind of like that Nitecore D10... the price tag however is a different story. It is a simple light which I do like. There are little things about it I don't like like the piston drive system. I kind of like a solid, audible "click". I'm also not sure I like the way they did the brightness ramping. I would rather it start dim and go brighter instead of only being able to go dimmer. But yes, something like that D10 is what I would like.