Streamlight Polytac LED Quicky Review

ColoradoStoneman

Newly Enlightened
Well, thanks to this forum, I was convinced that my Surefire G2 was a bad idea on a shotgun (poof). At the local gun shop, they have the Streamlight Polytac LED. Why not try it, at only $38.

Well, it is the perfect close up shotgun light for cheap. Not perfect for other stuff, but for this purpose it is good.

First off, I just wanted acceptable light, but the Polytac LED is actually pretty good. It looks like a Cree in there, but I am no expert. But, it performs well for a simple light. Good color, and a good smooth beam.

As for output, it is very close to the Fenix PD20 on Turbo. Rated at 120 out the front, it is no surprise that it is about equal to 180 Chinese Fenix lumens.

Is it high tech like the little Chinese packages? No. It has no functions at all, only Off and ON, with a forward clicky. Is it a better value then the Surefire G2 LED? Yes. It is brighter, less money, and "MAYBE" as dependable?

All in all, this is a really good light. If you want a light that just works, it will fit the bill. It really doesn't do anything better, but it has a quality beam for $38.

Here are some Pictures:
polytac1.jpg

polytac2.jpg

polytac3.jpg

polytac4.jpg

polytac5.jpg

PD20 BEAM
pd20beam.jpg

PolyTac BEAM
polytacbeam.jpg

SureFire 6PD---HO-09 driven by 2xIMR16340's (my favorite hotrod)
SFbeam.jpg

Now the big LED Jet M1X (cover your eyes)
Jet M1X.jpg

Last edited:

ColoradoStoneman

Newly Enlightened
Just an additional note. The body OD is .970 inches.

I bought this light to mount on a 12 gauge. Tonight, I found that the body is a bit under the standard 1". No big deal, as a rubber shim, or even some electrical tape will fix the problem. Just be aware that it is smaller.

The wide beam and spill are very good for an indoor weapon light. I am very pleased with this light for the shotgun.

ypsifly

Enlightened
Thanks for the review!