Best General Flashlight 2 Mode $50 2 Mode?

crockett

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking for some lights to put around my house / camper / car glove boxes.

Criteria:
-I'd like to put a budget of $50 or less on each light.
-I need them to run on AA eneloops (I'm a photographer and have enough Eneloops and chargers to open my own store).
-Simple two mode is fine but it must have 2 modes.
-I'm fasinated by brightness, but I do like a nice smooth spread.
-The purpose is to have lights for checking electrical box, starting our generator (we lose power often), for the wife to carry during a power outage, in the glove box of my wifes car, a couple in the camper for walks at night etc. Basically quality flashlights for general use. The caveat being they need to run on AAs.

A friend has a Fenix TK40 and I'll definately be getting one of those for other reasons but I'd like to slowly replace my hodge podge of 2C Maglites, cheap Rayovacs, etc. that I have laying all over the house, vehicles, etc.

The TK20 seems nice but it's a bit pricey. Anyone make a quality light that runs on 4 AAs?

Thanks.

Legend

Newly Enlightened

ejot

Enlightened
You may be interested in reading the:

1xAA Round-up Review
2xAA Round-up Review

Selfbuilt's reviews are top-notch and have been a HUGE help to me as a flashlight beginner.

edit: read the "reviewer's note" on the first line of those reviews, as they are each one part of multi-part reviews.

Last edited:

ejot

Enlightened
Keep in mind, for a light that will see a variety of uses, the lowest low is often of more interest than the highest high. The brightest, longest throwing light in a certain class is of very little use if its lowest setting nearly blinds you when trying to do up-close tasks.

As someone who has recently gone through the process of selecting my first lights for a variety of tasks, I think this is the most under-emphasized criterion for general-purpose lights.

rlb4

Newly Enlightened