18650 Recommendation

John4

Newly Enlightened
Hello! I'm a longtime reader, but infrequent poster. I just purchased a Jetbeam Jet-III M to replace by existing EDC, a Fenix P3D-CE. I'm probably going to get a Zebralight H60 headlamp soon too. I'm a newbie to the world of 18650 batteries. I've seen posts about some lights having problems fitting some 18650 batteries. I saw a 3000 mAh protected 18650, which is appealing becuase of the protection, and larger capacity. Any thoughts or recommendations? What about chargers? Thanks!

Badbeams3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Somewhere I read a review of several 18650 (can`t find it)...the Eagletac was the only one that the protection worked as it should. Size wise...no clue. I have a newer 139 charger that seems to work perfect...but it`s not well loved around here...there were some reports the older one`s might overcharge.

wapkil

Enlightened
Somewhere I read a review of several 18650 (can`t find it)...the Eagletac was the only one that the protection worked as it should.

Probably it was Mev's shootout.

I have a newer 139 charger that seems to work perfect...but it`s not well loved around here...there were some reports the older one`s might overcharge.

The newer wf-139 AFAIK can also overcharge - it trickle charges the cells.

Mjolnir

Flashlight Enthusiast
This should be in the batteries section. As far as cells go, the ultrafire may be fine, but I personally stick with the trustfire blue and black cells (2500 Mah and 2400 Mah). For a charger the PILA IBC is probably the best non hobby charger you can get, but it is about $50.

LightScene

Enlightened
It seems that you don't want to put your batteries in the charger and then forget about them for a long time. It's best to charge them when you can attend to them and remove them from the charger once they are charged. Of course unforseen things can happen to pull you away while your batteries are charging and that's where the trouble lies.