Acebeam        

Thread: Best upgrade lamp for A2?

Enlightened

Default Best upgrade lamp for A2?

Hey guys, I am a noob with incans and I just got a mint Surefire A2. Its output is a little less than I would like, so what can I drop in it to bring it to life?

Default Re: Best upgrade lamp for A2?

Since the aviator is a regulator fed incandescent, changing the lamp or the battery won't alter the output, rather it may bring down the efficiency of it.

The only lamps currently available [independent from Surefire] is the Lumen Factory HO-A2, and the streamlight strion lamp [must be used with the A2 holder custom built by Fivemega]

Enlightened

Dang, I did not know it was regulated. I might just have to dump this thing. I looked up the Strion socket and it does not seem that there are any available. Does that sound right? I guess I could try the HO-A2, but at only 120 lumens, I don't know if it is worth it. What is the most output you can get out of 6 or 7 volts with an incan?

Theoretically, about 250 lumens/watt. Recent work with quantum incandescents approaches 200 lumens/watt, using buckytube deposition on a hot element to tune photon wavelengths. This won't see light of ... uhm... anyway, it won't be ready for a while yet.

The HO-A2 or Strion will bump up output noticably, though.

Flashaholic*

Glad someone asked, was thinking of getting a A2 before SF discontinues them. Apparently the Strion holders are not being made anymore.

Would anyone know the runtimes of the Lumens Factory lamp? Looks promising as a replacement for the stock MA02

The Runtime is about 40 mins on 2 x CR123 Primary Cells
    We will not fade silently into the night! Keep that hotwire burning!
    http://www.lumensfactory.com

Like us on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/LumensFactory

Wink Re: Best upgrade lamp for A2?

Quote Originally Posted by AncientSword View Post
    Dang, I did not know it was regulated.