HELP! Need homemade heatsink!

Cole07

Enlightened
Hello everyone.
Recently I purchased a Terralux TLE6 EX for my 5D cell maglite. As i use it for about ten minutes, I begin to notice that it is dimming due to overheating. I REALLY need a heatsink for this. I don't want to order one because my parents think I'm crazy for being interested in flashlights. I'm also only 16. I just want to be able to make one from scratch with household objects. I am not able to cut metal or anything like that. And I'm still a noob because I have not ever done any modding on a flashlight seeing as I only own two good ones. But, any suggestions on a homemade heatsink? Please help. Thanks in advance.

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am unsure about how the terralux dropin fits into the maglite, but try wrapping it in aluminum foil.

:wave:
I'm 17, and I'm a flashaholic.

Capo_au

Newly Enlightened
If you have any old PC's around the house then consider pulling one apart for the motherboard chipset heatsink.

If not, then maybe just get to work with a pair of pliers and an old beer can or soup tin.

Good luck:)

tebore

Flashlight Enthusiast
There's not much you can do besides putting thermal paste and wrapping the module in aluminum foil as there's no way for the heat from the LED to get to the body.

You may want to use the LED and driver from the module to create a mod using a proper heatsink sold in the BST.

Cole07

Enlightened
There's not much you can do besides putting thermal paste and wrapping the module in aluminum foil as there's no way for the heat from the LED to get to the body.

You may want to use the LED and driver from the module to create a mod using a proper heatsink sold in the BST.

I would consider doing that... But doesn't that require me to take the LED apart? :shrug:

Cole07

Enlightened
If you have any old PC's around the house then consider pulling one apart for the motherboard chipset heatsink.