Please help with quiestion on Nitecore

carl8190

Banned
Im new to this i have just registerd. I currently have a fenix ld20, Because i love flashlights i want to buy a nitecore d10 but i wanted to know if it was regulated like the fenix or if the light drops as the batterys die :S On the nitecore site it says

Maximum output for approx 50 minutes (with brightness declines to 50%)

If its regulated why does the brigtness decline to 50% ?

Sorry if i sound stupid im new to all this. What would the d10 be like on walks for example.
Hope you all can help

Carl.

Lighthouse one

Flashlight Enthusiast
A regulated light will hold a high output longer, and then drop off very quickly. The time is taken as it quickly passes this 50% of initial brightness output. Some lights drop out of regulation- and continue on for a while at a reduced output. Unregulated lights are not necessarily always bad. I have one that will run nearly 10 hours of slowly dropping output.

A lot of members insist on flat regulation. You should not wait until the light hits end of power decline before recharging a li-ion. Do so often...

carl8190

Banned
NiteCore D10 Ramping Issue

I am going to buy a NiteCore D10 but I have read issues regarding the ramping. Have they solved the ramping issues yet or does it still ramp too fast to find lower levels.
Last question should I go for the R2 version or Q5:thinking:

Let me know your thoughts:twothumbs
Thanks Guys

Moonshadow

Enlightened
Re: NiteCore D10 Ramping Issue

No problems at all with my Q5. Ramping is fine, no flickering, everything is absolutely perfect. :thumbsup:

Personally, I would stick with the Q5: the marginal increase in brightness to the R2 doesn't really justify the increased price tag, plus the Nitecore R2s seem to be a bit more of a tint lottery, so you'd run the risk of getting a yellow one instead of the nice pure white tint on the Q5 (WC bin).

Igor Porto

Enlightened