Which P7 or MC-E drop-in?

Dobbler

Enlightened
Yes, I've read the P60 sticky thread. I'm looking for a recommendation though... don't want skeptical quality, but hoping not to break the bank either.

I have a Surefire 6P and I want:
1. something significantly brighter than a Cree R2 (have one of those)
2. a massive wall of light, not too concerned about throw
3. to run on a single 18650 (yes, my 6P is bored for it) but two RCR123 would be OK
4. [optional] two-levels of output (am I dreaming here?)

Which P7 or MC-E (or other option?) would you recommend, and why?

Last edited:

AndrewZorn

Newly Enlightened
I've lurked quite a bit, but had to register after I read this, because your situation is so similar to mine. I do this to offer my input, but because I'm no expert and because I've already ordered (but not received) my drop-ins, I am also looking for answers too.

First off, I haven't found a P7 drop-in, and learned/was told that due to the heat issues, there would likely never be one. So I looked for an MC-E.
EDIT so there apparently is a P7 drop-in, custom-made. Oh well. Should have read here earlier. But the battery life supposedly isn't what the MC-E gets...

I was issued a 6p and knew I instantly had to have a floody LED upgrade for it. After hours on DealExtreme and here, I came up with this: I had to buy a new P60 body and upgrade two flashlights simultaneously. I wanted 18650 but did not have the means to bore my 6P. I ordered an R2 to go in my CR123A-only 6P, since it seemed like the best way to go... this also means I can have a spotlight 6P and a second light for the ultimate flood. Just found out tonight that the model of R2 drop-in I ordered has recently been changed and now sucks... I should have purchased a different R2 drop-in. My shopping was based on the number of [good] reviews and minimizing the number of modes, that's why I ended up with what I purchased, which has recently turned into garbage, I'm told.