Current draw measurements on Fenix TA21 and LD10

pseudoblue

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys,

This is my first attempt on current draw measurement, tested on a Fenix TA21 and LD10, but I'm getting different readings. Has anyone done measurements on the Fenix TA21? Do compare with my data below, I would like to know if my measurements is how someone would measure current draw in LEDs. I'm still learning, and would like to be corrected and learn more.

I'm using an Ace Digital Multimeter (affordable), DC current measurement only has 2mA, 20mA, 200mA and 10A range. Positive pin is placed on the body (non-anodized part) and Negative pin placed on the center battery, which is one AW18650, voltage reading before test is at 4.01

I've excluded the strobe, beacon and sos modes (The TA21 has 12 modes).

Stages (lumens rated by Fenix) --- Tested at 10A on DMM:
1) 4 lumens --- 0.00 (no reading because of high resistance)
2) 18 lumens --- 0.03 (30 mA)
3) 35 lumens --- 0.06 (60 mA)
4) 50 lumens --- 0.11 (110 mA)
5) 80 lumens --- 0.19 (190 mA)
6) 120 lumens --- 0.32 (320 mA)
7) 160 lumens --- 0.51 (510 mA)
8) 190 lumens --- 0.67 (670 mA)
9) 225 lumens --- 0.88 (880 mA)

Stages (lumens rated by Fenix) --- Tested at 200mA on DMM:
1) 4 lumens --- 12.7 mA
2) 18 lumens --- 39 mA
3) 35 lumens --- 75.4 mA
4) 50 lumens ---123.4 mA
5) 80 lumens --- DMM showed 1, which was above 200mA

Now for the LD10, voltage reading before test was at 1.70, Energizer Ultimate Lithium.

Stages (lumens rated by Fenix) --- Tested at 10A on DMM:
1) 9 lumens --- 0.11 (110 mA)
2) 45 lumens --- 0.36 (360 mA)
3) 90 lumens --- 2.3 - 2.5A

Something was very wrong there, I'm not sure if it's my DMM, but 2.3A on high mode is insane? I switch off my DMM and then back on, tested not more than 2 secs to get a reading on high and it's around 2.3 - 2.5 again. I stopped there, did not bother to test on turbo. However, the brightness level on each mode appears to be the same as with the tailcap on.