Hello, and Olight M30, Fenix TK40 or LumaPower MVP TurboForce?

thudly

Newly Enlightened
I'm a complete noob, so have pity on this babble, please...

15 years ago I bought a SureFire 6P (I was working as a civvy for the Denver, CO PD while in grad school). It was soooo tiny compared to the maglites of the era and amazingly bright. I carry it in my briefcase today.

Then a couple of years ago I bought an LED headlight (Petzl Zipka Plus 4-LED Headlamp) and I've been amazed at how convenient it was… sure it is lumpy, but it is my EDC.

Then I found CPF and life got complicated. I found out there are a bunch of folks who actually know who made the LEDs in my little headlamp, understand how they are powered, and somewhere there is even somebody who rewired them to etch their girlfriend's initials on the face of the moon, real quick before the LEDs burned out.

Now 7777 has sold me a Fenix LD10 and it is 1/3 the size of my old SureFire and umpteen times as bright… on 1 AA battery. Wow. I'm hooked. A sad fact? I can't decide which light to carry so the Petzl sits in my right pocket and the Fenix in my left. Every day. Hey, you never know…

So now I really need your help on deciding on the next light. I've narrowed it down to 3, all using some variant of a 4-doohickey LED, 2 MC-E lights and one P7: Olight M30, Fenix TK40 or LumaPower MVP TurboForce.

Some random thoughts:
The TK40 uses AA batteries and that appeals to my (noob) 'worst-case scenario' thinking. I mean, I can ALWAYS get AA batteries. I'm not even sure what some of the other options are or where to source them beyond a specialty dealer…

OTOH, the TK40 has had some reported, inexplicable over-heated battery packs. There are dire warnings out about making sure all of the Li cells are discharged to the same degree and are used as a set. All of a sudden, even flashlight batteries aren't quite so casual a thing anymore.