Compact Flashlight for fire fighting

FireFighter

Newly Enlightened
I work as a volunteer wildfire (wildland) fire fighter & am looking for a good LED compact flashlight to use.
I am looking @ buying the LED Lenser H7, after reading reviews on the net & seeing it work on YouTube. From what I have read on CPF another good light is the SureFire range, but they are 3 to 4 times the price of the Lenser here in South Africa. Not too sure if I want to be running around the mountain side in the dark with that amount of money in a flashlight, but also want quality.:thinking:
I'm not too concerned about battery life, as my headlight on my helmet works well for general stuff on the fire line. I'm just looking for a powerful, but small flashlight for when I need that bit of extra light!!

Any suggestion??

M@elstrom

Flashlight Enthusiast
The LED Lenser H7 is a headlamp... were you intending on running 2 headlamps in conjunction? :thinking:

A small yet powerful handheld flashlight could prove more flexible (considering you already have a satisfactory helmet light) :thumbsup:

jahxman

Enlightened
I would think that for this purpose you would want to avoid flashlights that use lithium batteries, on the off chance that if the light gets too hot (i.e. accidentally dropped on the fire) with lithiums it can get explosive, and make a bigger problem.

Some lights that I've seen designed for firefighting generally use lead-acid batteries if they are rechargeable, which also means they are not "compact", like this one:

http://www.chiefsupply.com/Flashlights/Rechargeable/Lanterns/FIREVULCAN

Also the cases tend to be made from high temp plastic instead of metal, and the switches tend to be designed to be easy to operate with heavy gloves on.

A more compact package that incorporates these features and was designed with firefighting in mind is the Streamlight Survivor LED Flashlight.

Last edited:

AusKipper

Enlightened