NiteCore EX10 plunger fussiness

Xe54

Enlightened
Greetings:

I have been EDC-ing a Smart PD EX10 for a few months. It was an improvement over a Fenix P2D. While the size of the Fenix was great, I found the fact that it turned on in low mode annoying since I usually wanted medium. So having to always give an extra tap to get the desired level wasn't a show stopper, but enough to motivate me to find something that would turn on to exactly the desired level.

A forward clicky with programmability and level memorization would be ideal here, since I like momentary operation.

But I went with the Nitecore EX10, mainly because it was also one of the few lights available in an R2 bin.

I'm mostly happy with the Nitecore EX10. The size is almost impossible to beat. (The new Fenix PD20 is a disappointment here.) The brightness on high is great for impressing friends, but usually setting it to a medium level is satisfactory for 99% of needs. The low low level is also a nice improvement over Fenix.

The only problem is that the plunger is sometimes acting up. I press it and it won't stay on when released. Unless I really lay into it for a second. Since when it is working correctly I am conditioned to expect that it will latch on with just a quick tap, this behavior causes me to waste time. Usually but not always after it does this, it returns to normalcy after several firm cycles on/off.

This is a minor problem. But it does have me considering if there is still something better. That something will have to compete reasonably well with EX10's size however.

I'm looking at the Liteflux LF3 XT (no R2, but maybe I can tolerate that).

Any other contenders?