Convert SF G2Z to LED

Steevo

Newly Enlightened
I currently have a SF G2Z incandescent and want to convert it to LED. I am a police officer and would like to have the most powerful light possible(my department supplies batteries). Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can do this?

Armed_Forces

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF Steve, but you've got a problem.

You can't have "the most powerful light possible" because with light comes heat and that heat must be dissipated to have reliability/longevity. Your G2Z is made of plastic and that really sucks as far as heat conduction is concerned. LEDs are far more demanding in this area compared to incandescent bulbs. Without getting you too bogged down with the tech, I would suggest buying an aluminum bodied flashlight that would be better suited to what you have in mind.

sween1911

Flashlight Enthusiast
At least, if you're married to the G2Z, get an aluminum bezel with a non-melting pyrex lens to manage at least -some- of the heat and give you a heat-resistant lens.

If you're going for a drop-in, might as well spring for a Z2LED with the Surefire LED drop-in already in place.

Steevo

Newly Enlightened
How many lumens will my G2Z handle. And why would I get a new z2led when I can get a drop in for a lot less money. I really don't know much about lights only that they have saved my behind many times. For my purposes of regular patrol work do I need to go higher than 80 lumens?

DigMe

Enlightened
Short answer in light of what has already been said is that the Malkoff drop-ins are widely considered the best drop-ins for Surefire. The most powerful ones are very powerful indeed but since your Surefire is made of plastic you'll have to "settle" for one of the Malkoff "low output" drop-ins that are designated with an "L" in their name so that it doesn't melt the body. The output is around 140 lumens.

The standard M60L is here:
http://www.malkoffdevices.com/shop/m60l-low-output-to-fit-surefire-p-8.html

brad

Onuris