How to condition a drum skin

TOB9595

Enlightened
I have a great drum from Haiti. How does one condition the skin?
The skin is hard and dry.
Not being a musician or even sharp, I need illumination on this one /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Does the skin even need to be treated?
I have in my head that it should be supple.
The drum stands ~ 4 feet tall and is ~ 20 inches. Maybe less I'm goin from memory.
It is real skin of some sort.
Thanks
Tom

TOB9595

Enlightened
Are there no drummers out there.
Yes I did a google search. I found that I should use mink oil. AND I found to never use oil.
This was on two different hits tho /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Tom

Josh

Flashlight Enthusiast
I will ask a friend about this, he has been playing for years. I'll get back to you when I get back from work.

Tree

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am no expert with backline, but we do own several congas. I'll have to ask the more experienced players this question. I'll post here with any news.

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
I have several drums myself and need to pay attention to this thread! I'll call a music store also and see what they say.

We like to have a "little drum circle" now and then, made a nice shaker out of pvc, BBs, and pvc end caps. Bought some goat's hooves at an outdoor market - strung together on a decorative band...adds a subtle rattle sound to the mix...lots of fun, and merely a sense of rhythym needed, as long as everyone stays "mellow" and doesn't try to take the floor all at once, it sounds pretty good!

I'll throw in a little "Native American Flute" occasionally. I'm currently dabbling with a "penny whistle" and should get on Whistler's site for some tips!

TOB9595

Enlightened
So, Did anyone get a chance to get info?
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Tom

TOB9595

Enlightened
These are great links.
Thanks
BUT....