Does anyone own a First Light Tomahawk?

Steevo

Newly Enlightened
I am a police officer and am looking for feedback on this light. It looks really promising as a police duty light. I have been a police officer for 6 years and can see a lot of advantages. I do not live anywhere near a dealer and would like some feedback before I buy the light without trying it.

matrixshaman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't have the LE version but just the one with one LED. It's plenty bright and intuitive to use with a lot of nice features. The beam pattern is not quite as clean as some since the one I have uses a smooth reflector but you have to be fairly picky to even notice it. I can definitely see it being useful for a LEO in a number of situations. One slight annoyance for me on it is that if you set it down on the bottom on a flat surface it will be just on the verge of tipping over forward. Not a real problem since you can lay it on it's side but having seen them in pics I thought it would stand up better (it does but the slightest jiggle will topple it). The clip is fairly secure and useful on a number of things and the finger loop (different sizes are available) makes it easy to hang on to when you have other things in hand. Service from Tomahawk is top notch. I have not seen or tried the other LE versions with color LED's around the perimeter so I can't tell you about those but I assume they have a different beam pattern as the main reflector would be smaller. I think there may be a review around here somewhere from a year or two ago. I know member Silverfox (our battery guru) and member brighterisbetter own Tomahawks also so if they don't see this thread you might PM them if you have other questions. Thanks for your service.

Vinniec5

Enlightened