Surefire U2 Ultra or Leupold MX331

short

Newly Enlightened
I everyone, newbie here, first post. I have $300 to spend, looking for my 2nd LED light. As an aside, I have a new surefire T1A Titan and love it, great for my keychain. This little light is as bright as my 3D Maglight.

Anyways, both these look good, judging by their respective website spec sheets.

1. The Leupold has a 175 lumen beam, and the U2 has a 100 Lumen beam. Winner Leupold

2. The Leupold is waterproof to 120 feet, the U2 is "weatherproof", meaning it should stand up to getting wet from rain, but do not submerge (that's what the surefire customer service person said to me today anyways). Winner Leupold

3. Both made in USA, (I have not set foot in a wallmart in 15 years) - tie

4. Threads on this site, or mentions of the product line. Leupold, very few or no mentions (based on me going thru 17 pages of the general forum before I joined here), surefire has many reviews, threads, and praise in general on this forum. Clear winner, surefire

There may be a few things I am missing, but I am interested in what you all will say. That I see little or no mention of Leupold on this forum speaks volumes allready. Unless you guys talk about Leupold all the time on this forum, then this whole post will speak volumes about my reading comprehension....

steveG

Enlightened
I don't know anything about Leupold, but I loooove my newly acquired U2A.

By the way, you can pick up a like-new U2A for at least a hundred dollars less than retail on CPF Market Place.

iapyx

Enlightened
I don't know anything about Leupold, but I loooove my newly acquired U2A.

By the way, you can pick up a like-new U2A for at least a hundred dollars less than retail on CPF Market Place.

+1
The U2 is a perfect light.
But I am prejudiced as I own two U2's (U2 and U2A) and never had a Leupold MX331.