Liberty

MarNav1

Flashlight Enthusiast
So what's the point? May as well go underground, we've been here before.

Glenn7

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well hey sorry I thought it might have been of interest - I thought it was an amazing photo (and as a photographer I appreciate the composition and hard work it must have been) and it wasn't ment to be contrivertial or anything - people seem to post tons of differant things in cafe - so I thought it was ok- can someone verify if this was against the rules

Last edited:

Greta

Flashaholic
Nothing wrong with this. It really is quite a neat photo! MarNav... what is your objection to it? :thinking:

angelofwar

Flashlight Enthusiast
Neat photo Glenn...like to see these old photo's of patriotic themes...first time I saw this one...I'll ahve to print this one out and put it up in my office/class! Thanks!

Patriot

Flashaholic
Neat photo and I've never seen it before. Imagine the logistical process of getting that together.

waddup

Flashlight Enthusiast
18,000 men could have done something much more useful with their time.

my 0.2 cents.

Patriot

Flashaholic
18,000 men could have done something much more useful with their time.

my 0.2 cents.

:huh:

Would it have been better spent had they all been in front of computer screens typing on a flashlight forum? It's art. The world could always be more "useful" in its ways but I suspect this has achieved greater usefulness over the past 95 years than what you and I are doing right now.

One could even argue for the extensive organizational skills involved in something like this. If you're objecting to the manpower itself, think about how seemingly useless exercises in basic training are less about actual task accomplishment and more about self improvement in accordance with a military mindset. Judging by the date, I'm sure a lot of these guys were being "useful" in WWI.

waddup

Flashlight Enthusiast
there is a lot of waste on this planet, and a lot of need.