Angryfox        
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

  1. #1
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    12

    Default Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Ive had my Nitecore D10 R2 for about a month now. But all of a sudden it does not turn off anymore. The light stays on at a single brightness level and will not turn off. I cannot use the ramp up/down feature anymore.

    I talked to 4sevens, got an RMA# and have sent the light back. I even asked 4sevens to send me a new light instead of trying to repair the old one. clearly there was something wrong with my light.

    anywayz, did someone else have this problem??

    do you think i should stick with the D10 R2?

    any help would be appreciated

    p.s - D10 is my first EDC and thats why im a lil upset that it stopped working after just 1 month

  2. #2

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Don't worry this is not unusual. Despite it's popularity (I own two myself), the PD system is heavily flawed. It gets stuck like this all the time.

    Try the following:

    1. Unscrew the light and take a small screwdriver and pivot the brass ring on the bottom inside of the head around a little bit.

    2. Also try pushing the brass ring down a couple of times at a couple of spots.

    3. Remove the internal cyclinder (the end of which is the button you press for activation) and then reseat it back into the battery tube.

    Now try your light again.

    You may also try:

    4. Changing the type/brand of cell. Try alkaline, lithium, rechargeable, etc. The slight variances affect the PD system.
    Peace!
    Sygyzy
    www.sygyzy.com | Hall of Fame: js, MrBulk, Litho123, Dark Zero, Lips, Milkyspit, StarHalo

  3. #3

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Also, when the light is apart wipe off all the old lube on the threads, piston and o-rings and re-lube with a good synthetic grease.

  4. #4
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    well guys i tried to open and relube it but no luck. there was defnitely a problem with the micro processor. I've already sent it back to 4sevens and will hopefully get a new replacement one. i really dont like the idea of "repairing" a flashlight since it can cause problem down the road.

    but have you guys have good/bad experience with 4sevens customer service? would they send me a new light or not?

    waiting for some help from the cpf people !

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* kwkarth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I have a D10GD that has the same problem. Usually a hard reset (Unscrewing the head completely, and putting it back on.) fixes the issue for a while, but it can re-appear several times a day. I called and received an RMA from 4Sevens, but my problem is that their customer service is SO good, that I haven't sent the flashlight in yet. So don't worry, their customer service is top notch!!
    “Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend, inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.” -Groucho Marx
    You never know when you might need a good flashlight!

  6. #6

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I have a problem with my D20: it will turn on by minimal shaking. I tried to push the brass ring a little bit after I saw this post. Then the brass ring fell off! Is it screwed on or glued on the bottom of the tube? I didn't see any glue residue on it, and I didn't saw anything looks like broken.
    Last edited by dracodoc; 09-14-2009 at 09:31 AM.
    Jetbeam C-LE 1.2, Zebralight H501, SC51
    Nitecore D20
    Nitecore EZ AA For wife

  7. #7
    Unenlightened potatoheadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK, Surrey, Near a Tree
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I had a similar Issue with My D10 R2 .

    The Brass "Piston" ring ended up slightly crooked at the point at where the split is, it became offset catching on the threads and did all manner of crazy things. Mine just suddenly started doing random things including flickering, self ramping & staying permanently on.

    After consulting with NitecoreUK gently rotating the ring 180 degrees so it's level and sits below the line of the threads sorted it out. Haven't had a problem since

    Also definitely change the grease and do the de-oxit ritual. The stock lube seems to be Uber Sticky for some reason, and my brass contacts were quite dirty out of the box.
    Last edited by potatoheadUK; 09-14-2009 at 11:39 AM. Reason: shouldn't type in a hurry.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Hummm.The D10 was to be my next light. Now im not so sure.

  9. #9
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by corvettesR1 View Post
    Hummm.The D10 was to be my next light. Now im not so sure.
    4Sevens has already shipped my light back and its on the way. They are sending me a new one in return. I hope that this one will not have any problems.

    Ill let you know when i get it.... but i seriously loved the light when i had it. Best flashlight ever.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    985

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Hummm.The D10 was to be my next light. Now im not so sure.
    All mass-produced technological items can have their occasional problems and flashlights are no exception. This can happen with any make, and if you did a search, you'd probably turn up a few difficulties with any light that you were thinking of buying.

    As moon88 has reported, so long as you buy from a good dealer, they will take care of you anyway.

    The D10 is one of the most popular and highly regarded lights here and rightly so. I wouldn't let reports of the occasional problem put you off.

  11. #11
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    North Cackalacky ▲
    Posts
    363

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I had the same problem with my D10 R2. I got it when they first came out with the R2. I sent it back to 4sevens, and they replaced the head which contained the faulty electronics.

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Guildford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    182

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    All there ramping lights have bad issues so I got rid of mine

  13. #13
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    985

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    All of them ? That's a bit of a sweeping statement.

    I'm sorry that you had problems with yours, but I have two that have worked flawlessly for many months so it simply isn't true that "all" of them have issues. Many others have had excellent experiences with the Nitecores, making the PD lights one of the most popular on these boards.

    It's a shame that you've had a bad experience - exactly what was wrong with your light ?
    Last edited by Moonshadow; 09-18-2009 at 09:38 AM.

  14. #14
    Unenlightened potatoheadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK, Surrey, Near a Tree
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Just to qualify my first post on this, I haven't had a single problem with my D10 R2 since speaking to flashaholics, and it wasn't an electronics problem, merely the piston ring out of alignment catching i=on the threads.

    I still trust my D10 for general illumination EDC, more so than I do their clickies.

  15. #15
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Boden, Sweden
    Posts
    3,299

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    When I ordered my D10GD I ordered two at the same time. I sold the other to a friend. Now he tells me that the light has started to turn on by itself. Is this problem caused by the same reason like the light doesn't turn off?

  16. #16

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I have the same problem here is a video

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCmpeV0dTFs

    I contacted batteryjunction whom I bought it from, no help, all they said was use a AA battery less than 50mm. I have no idea which AA is less than 50mm cause arnt they ALL 50mm?? what battery do people usually use with the D10? thanks

  17. #17

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Do any of these problems exist in the NDI?
    >>Opinions expressed by red02 do not necessarily express the opinions of the company or its subsidiaries. Facts stated by red02 are not necessarily facts.<<

  18. #18

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Part of the genius of the D10 is just HOW easily you can disassemble and reassemble it if the need arises. Just look it up on Youtube - there are videos of people pulling the heads out, reflectors out, etc with only a screwdriver. It's a very utilitarian little light and you can take mine from my cold, dead fingers. Which'll be fine because I have a backup one in my collection.

    Quote Originally Posted by moon88 View Post
    Ill let you know when i get it.... but i seriously loved the light when i had it. Best flashlight ever.
    Agreed, despite buying a new AA seemingly every week, it's the only one that gets clipped to my pocket everyday before I leave the house.

  19. #19
    Flashaholic* mcnair55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Wales UK
    Posts
    4,449

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by corvettesR1 View Post
    Hummm.The D10 was to be my next light. Now im not so sure.
    Made my mind up as well,not buying one and I was tomorrow,now going for my second choice of the Lumapower Flashlights: Incendio V3 R5,hope that proves to be ok.

  20. #20
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    Mine had the same problem. it wasn't the ring. one of the chips got off in the solder. i soldered it again, and started working again for a few days. then was the other side. i tried to save it, but i couldn't. now i have the body on my desk. i didn't send it back because it cost me a lot to send it from my country.

  21. #21

    Default Re: Nitecore D10 R2 problem

    I use Energizer lithium in my SP model and it has worked great but with 14500 the fit is just to tight and causes issues. It's really not a problem because the light is plenty bright this way. I could nip a bit of the spring off to fit 14500 better but I'd rather not. It has a trit in the tail so I use it mostly as a nightstand light set on low mode.

    I'm really happy with this one unlike some Nitecore PD light's of the past.
    My flashlight collection HERE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •