NITECORE -- Keep Innovating        
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: am i missing an aa lights?

  1. #1

    Default am i missing an aa lights?

    i have quite a collection of lights, as im sure most of us do. my favorite format is the aa/2aa light.
    i have had a d10 forever that i love. just got the ez aa which i also love, so so small, kills a aaa light , and now i have a d20 too. i plan to dig up a warm quark aa to run a 14500 in (300ma high just wont cut it). am i missing any cool aa lights from my collection. yes i've had and loved the l2d q5, am i missing much not having an olight? anything else i should consider or missed?
    6d rop high 4dmag tri-cree 4d mag penta q5 (fs)
    mte seoul aa 3aa magled q5mod fenix l0d q4 on 10440s
    fenix l2d q5 fenix l2d rebel 100 3dmag w/monsterthrowIII

  2. #2

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Zebralight H501W

  3. #3
    A&Q Moderator
    Woods Walker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New England woods.
    Posts
    5,422

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    I got an Olight T15 a short time ago. Fully supports 14500 I think but don't use them. Has an interesting reflector and UI. Has a resonable low level too. Given your other lights I don't know if you are missing anything in the gear dept. unless you are looking to collect AA lights.

    Edit.

    Yea a ZL would round your gear needs within AA very well.

  4. #4

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Quote Originally Posted by Toaster View Post
    Zebralight H501W
    +1, whole different type of light, and smallest AA light yet (that I know of anyway)

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* hyperloop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    $INGAPORE
    Posts
    2,878

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Jetbeam Jet I Pro IBS v3.0, i personally own the v2.0 which is a great light IMHO but the v3.0 promises higher output and greater efficiency from what i have read.

    For a budget AA, perhaps the Romisen RC N3 warm white, you can see some amateurish beamshots that i took here. It runs on 2xAA or 1xCR/RCR123.

    The other light is the Romisen RC N3 II Q5, 2 mode, 2xAA or 1xCR/RCR123 (1 mode). These 2 are available from shiningbeam, fantastic service, ordered/paid and shipped within 24 hours (maybe i got Bryan on a slow day )

    There's also the Akoray K106 (get the 3 mode programmable, nice light), i got mine off KD but had to wait ages for it. No regrets though, that is going to be my beater light along with the Ultrafire WF606B (2xAA or 1xCR2/RCR2)
    兵久而国利者,未之有也。

  6. #6

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    NDI, LD10.
    If and when the the big dookie hits the fan, and global chaos ensues, i want a couple of quality AA lights within reach.

  7. #7

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Quark AA
    LiteFlux LF5XT
    Zebralight H501

  8. #8

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Eagletac P10A and P10A2 neutral and Jetbeam Element.
    Current EDC: BA10 & E01 (back to old school)

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* Zeruel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SIN
    Posts
    3,286

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    To mention again, Jet-I Pro v3.0, Zebralight H501 and NDI.
    Value for money, Akoray K-106.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic OfficerCamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fairfield County, CT.
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    +1 Jetbeam I Pro. Extraordinary light, Sapphire Crystal!!!
    Who the hell would spend $50 on a flashlight? - My Mother

  11. #11
    Flashaholic Ctrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australian end of London, UK
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    I love my NDI just as much as my D10
    SF LX2 - D20 Q5 - NDI R2 - D10 R2 - EZAA

  12. #12
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Greece/Hellas/Crete
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Well i have sticked up well with my first jetbeam C-LE v1.2! Modding it with a R2 WG tint led plus ucl and smo reflector, it is now up to date!

  13. #13

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeruel View Post
    Value for money, Akoray K-106.
    +1

    This little programmable light stands proudly beside my collection of "nice" AA lights.

    For another inexpensive but very bombproof light, consider a Gerber Ultra Infinity for a 5mm LED dim light.

  14. #14
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    ICON Rogue 1. I'm having fun with my new lime green model. A little large for an AA but very unique looking.

    JB

  15. #15

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    just missed an ndi in the marketplace. seems like it would be similiar to my d10.

    ive had a fenix l1d ceq5, can the ld10 be much different? is this the new line thats very non-flashaholic friendly or am i thinking of a different $30 price point model.

    as far as the h501, im not really a headlamp kind of guy. it's looking so far like all i need is a warm quark aa to run on a 14500.
    Last edited by jasonsmaglites; 09-14-2009 at 08:52 PM.
    6d rop high 4dmag tri-cree 4d mag penta q5 (fs)
    mte seoul aa 3aa magled q5mod fenix l0d q4 on 10440s
    fenix l2d q5 fenix l2d rebel 100 3dmag w/monsterthrowIII

  16. #16

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    oh boy, i was checking out the jetbeam aa and noticed the 18650 version. are the ui's the same. can someone explain the 3 programmable outputs and infinitely variable modes to me. sounds like a recipe for the coolest light in the world!

    might have to pick up a aa and a 18650. oh my goodness, i might have to choose
    6d rop high 4dmag tri-cree 4d mag penta q5 (fs)
    mte seoul aa 3aa magled q5mod fenix l0d q4 on 10440s
    fenix l2d q5 fenix l2d rebel 100 3dmag w/monsterthrowIII

  17. #17
    Flashaholic* hyperloop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    $INGAPORE
    Posts
    2,878

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Quote Originally Posted by jasonsmaglites View Post
    oh boy, i was checking out the jetbeam aa and noticed the 18650 version. are the ui's the same. can someone explain the 3 programmable outputs and infinitely variable modes to me. sounds like a recipe for the coolest light in the world!

    might have to pick up a aa and a 18650. oh my goodness, i might have to choose
    you might want to checkout the programmable light user guides

    i own a number of jetbeams, Jet I Pro IBS v2.0, Jet II Pro IBS, Jet III Pro ST, love them all, tough as nails, looks good, works well.
    兵久而国利者,未之有也。

  18. #18
    *Flashaholic* StarHalo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California Republic
    Posts
    10,335

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    The king of the 1xAA lights, the long-discontinued JetBeam Mk IBS - a full 225 lumens on an RCR, brighter than even the brand-new D10 R2. Accepts anything that will fit in an AA tube, full IBS interface, and was the last JetBeam to have a truly balanced beam profile, very similar to previous-gen Fenixes. But good luck finding one as they were only made for a few months, and have been discontinued over a year now. I EDC one of these daily, and I don't know of anything in the <$200 range I'd prefer over it.

    Even if you can't find an MK IBS, you really must try at least one JetBeam that has the IBS interface; once you get used to setting your own modes, everything else seems stilted and awkward.

  19. #19

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    all my talk of looking for a warm quark aa made me yearn for a l2d rebel 100, so i just picked a nice tinted one up from marketplace. that ought to hold me over for a while. guess now i need a l1d body too. holy crap this hobby is expensive.
    6d rop high 4dmag tri-cree 4d mag penta q5 (fs)
    mte seoul aa 3aa magled q5mod fenix l0d q4 on 10440s
    fenix l2d q5 fenix l2d rebel 100 3dmag w/monsterthrowIII

  20. #20

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Quote Originally Posted by jasonsmaglites View Post
    as far as the h501, im not really a headlamp kind of guy.
    You can detach it from the headband and attatch the decent clip and then its just a normal angle torch with a floody beam (and tiny!!)

  21. #21
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ipoh, Malaysia
    Posts
    218

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    if you are looking for a fully programmable and features rich AA light, there is non other than LiteFlux LF5XT.

    it is the only AA light in the market that

    1) allows the user to select the number of output modes. i.e. it can be a 1
    2, 3, 4 or 5 modes output light.

    2) has a built-in over discharge protection for NIMH & Li-Ion battery that actually shut down the light instead of just giving warnings to the user to change battery.

    3) has a built-in battery voltage meter for checking the battery voltage under load. (NIMH & Li-Ion)

    4) has momentary-on feature that can be turn on/off by the user.

    5) has last used mode memory feature that can be turn on/off by the user.

    6) has direct access to 100% output & random frequency strobe.

    7) has an electronic tac switch that is more durable than normal forward/reverse clicky because no high electric current pass through the tac switch. only a tiny electric signal is sent from the tac switch to the MCU in the head.

    khoo

  22. #22

    Default Re: am i missing an aa lights?

    Proton Pro. Two LEDS, one white, one red, unique user interface that is quite simple and SMALL. The beam is quite narrow but has a little bit of flood. It is a really fine light for times where you aren't looking for a ton of throw. Comes with a pocket clip and has a eyelet for a lanyard. Check it out.

    Later,
    HB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •