Took adavantage of the housing market crash

ypsifly

Enlightened
I'm in the process of buying my first house. Found one we love in a great neighborhood that is perfect for what we need, here's the stats:

3 bedroom bungalow, the master bedroom upstairs is awesome with ceiling fan and recessed bookshelves

1 +1/2 car garage wired for electric with shop lights, work bench, plenty of cabinets and boards to hang tools..etc

All hardwood floors

Newish roof (less than 5yrs old), new hot water tank, new central air, solid furnace less than 20yrs old, new windows, copper plumbing

Nice yard that is ready for a garden

Less than a 10 minute bike ride to work

BIG kitchen which is nice since I'm a chef and the wife-to-be is a gifted baker, yet she works in retail...lol

Finished basement with drop ceiling, paneled walls...and get this...a bar!!:drunk:

New stove, newish fridge, older washer and dryer but they are Maytag and in great shape, small yet beautifully tiled modern bathroom, new reach-in freezer downstairs

The former occupant was an older lady who upgraded the house before passing away. Her sister took over the estate and was asking just the balance of what was left on the mortgage. She didn't want her sister's legacy to be a home left to the bank in foreclosure and was hoping a younger couple looking to start a family would pick it up...that's us.

I made an offer a couple grand under asking price, but the sister made a counter offer for full asking price. She isn't making any money off of it, just wanting the balance on the mortgage which I was prepared to deal with, so I signed the counter offer with 6% back. The deal is sealed and my mortgage is approved so we are waiting for everything to process for closing.

I'm nervous and VERY excited!

Any advice for a first time home owner would be GREATLY appreciated.

I'm already planning what flashlights will be placed in what rooms for emergency use should something happen.:twothumbs

LuxLuthor

Flashaholic