Help me get the most outta these

broncogearhead

Newly Enlightened
This is my first build. I'm looking to make a spotlight/floodlight for my truck. Gonna be used when camping etc.
I want it to wired to the truck. I'll have a cig lighter adapter or some other quick disconnect. I also have a few different housings to try to mount this in, I"ll post pictures of those later to get feedback as to what you guys think will be best.

What I have:
8 cree xre led's.
2 heat sinks. 2"x2" roughly.
two 1000ma buck pucks.
assorted lenses, mounts and heat sink epoxy.

I was thinking of mounting 4 led's on each heat sink.
Where I am a little unsure what to do is wiring them.
I was thinking of 4 led's wired in series on each buck puck. This ok?

Do I have enough heat sink?
What will give me the best power outta these?
I'd like to get the most I can outta this.
Any suggestions for a total led newbie?

broncogearhead

Newly Enlightened
well i got bored and put 4 of these on one of the heat sinks i had. i ran them in series and used one of the buck pucks. i hooked it up to a 12v deep cycle battery i had and ran it for about an hour.
it never really got over room temp.
looks like i will need to play with lens and such to get the flood/throw i want.
i also still need to find a good way to mount and house the light/heat sink.
i still dont know if this is the best way to wire it, but it looks like it will work.
if i read the spec sheet on the buck puck right, i can run the rest of the led's on the one puck.

my question is, should i run all 8 leds on one puck, or 4 on each puck?
is there any loss of power, or brightness by running it one way or the other?

Linger

Flashlight Enthusiast
I want you to be careful with voltages, it'd be easy to :poof: a component working with a 12v power supply.

You didn't really describe your heatsink so it's hard to say. More is usually better. LED's most efficient cooler they are.
By 'most power' I presume you mean brightest (not longest run-time).