New Surefire Fire Rescue Lights

tundratrader

Enlightened
What makes these lights safer than the regular ones? They use all the same hardware as the others. I dont get it. Does the color of the body with reflectors make the difference or are you just paying to get the intrinsically safe rating?

I am new to firefighting and search and rescue but I am a flashlight junkie. It makes since to me that slapping a m60wf in one of these with an AW 17670 cell would rock. Any reason this cant be done?

Thanks
Zach

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
I have one and I don't really see any difference as to safety. I like the bright yellow and that was pretty much enough for me. :D Put the Malkoff in but watch the heat levels. AH between the Al head, the 17670 battery and your location I doubt you'll have to worry about it.

Last edited:

jeeves

Newly Enlightened
Same hardware? Do you mean the electronics?
The outside looks pretty different to me.

surefire website said:
removable micro-lens inserts (included) that simultaneously diffuse the beam and control its divergence angle.

a micro-textured reflector to produce a smooth beam at three output levels

And what looks to me like a new head design.
*I don't 'follow' SureFire, this may just be one of their newer 'standard' heads but I've not seen it before.

Also, I don't know if other SF get 'MIL-STD-810 rated safe for explosive atmospheres but this one is'. Which is not typically a 'standard' feature in most lights.

Good question about whether there is a discernible difference or not.
I would probably do some research before buying, just to make sure I'm not paying for yellow grips, stickers, and... 'removable micro lens inserts' which I would probably never change after a week or two of finding which I liked best.

Although, the three out put levels and the UI would be nice to have for the Incan of an A2. Even better, on my E1e.

*I'm no SF nut, so simply ignore me if I'm misinformed .

sonrider657

Newly Enlightened