xp-g drop in mod with pics and beamshots

js-lots

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,
I just received my new xp-g r4 led's in the mail today. I decided to remove a r2 from one of my drop ins and replace it with one of these r4's. First let me say I am very new to modding flashlights so excuse me in advance for the messy work. When was very surprised by how different these leds look compared the the other crees (xpe, xre) without the ring. The dome is much smaller on the xpg and doesn't seem to work well with the existing reflectors that are out there. I had to be careful with the reflector not to have a short because the solder connections are right on top of the reflector. Focusing was impossible and the difference in brightness were uninspiring. Nonetheless, I still managed to crowbar one of these in an existing drop in. So here are the pics and beamshots. Hope you enjoy..

The r2 next to xpg r4 on 10mm board
dsc04605n.jpg

My expert soldering job. JK
dsc04607j.jpg

The xpg in the old xr e r2 reflector
dsc04609w.jpg

Here's a xr -e r2 on high drawing 1.59A from the tale. Fully charged trustfire 2500 protected. I know, a bit overdriven.
dsc04610d.jpg

Here's the xpg r4 drawing 1.72A from the tail. Same battery. Pretty high as well.
dsc04611u.jpg

Now for the beamshots
Indoor approximately 20 feet away from the door.
The R2
dsc04616i.jpg

The r4
dsc04615.jpg

Now for the outdoor. Approximately 60 feet to the fence. It was a little damp and misty outside.
The R2
dsc04619h.jpg

The R4
dsc04618eu.jpg