My other hobby. Now completed. Custom Bass!

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here is a custom bass guitar that I have been working off and on for nearly 2 years. The neck and hardware were purchased from Warmoth.com and the body and the construction is what I did. The reason why I bought a neck from Warmoth [rather than doing it myself] was because they have one of the best necks you can buy, and I didn't want to mess with making one because it's a science all it's own.

Anyway, I hope you like the pics!

fbe1b282.jpg

fbe1b805.jpg

flashlightlens

Newly Enlightened
Nice work! I worked in the engineering department for Morley for about two and a half years and dabbled as a luthier for a while. A handful of NAMM shows, a move, and a job change later, I just kind of left it all behind. In fact, I don't think I've touched my bass for about 5 years.

tsg68

Flashlight Enthusiast
Very nice, I was a finisher for PRS guitars for a few years, back in the late ' 80's. I stained and painted alot of guitars seeing as the quota back then was about 26 guitars a day per step so I actually sprayed about twice that rate or more. Lots of well known customers too, Ted Nugent, Jimmy Page, Brian Setzer, Carlos Santana, Brad Whitford and more I can't recall offhand, the customs were the most fun. Fun job, till they got a facist for a production consultant. I sold my last PRS about 8 or 9 years ago (for about 4 times what I paid for it and the guy was still happy to be paying that price) complete custom finish job on it by myself. I don't play anymore either, though some of my buddies try to coax me into playing with them all the time. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

TSG /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Kiessling

Flashaholic
wow !
looks great. how's the sound?
being a bass player myself I really can appreciate what you did.
bernhard (MusicMan Stingray5)

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks guys! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif