Please advise - headlamp for running/jogging

flashas

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I am new to flash lights, and today was browsing the net for some info. Almost bought Petzl, but I was lucky enough to find this forum ;)

I am looking for a headlamp for jogging and running. The requirements are simple: convenient to use, most lightweight and most powerful LED on the marker.

I have been looking at Zebralight H501, which I like due to standard AA baterry/rechargeable. It is much more practical to cary AA (or AAA) batteries, plus they are available everywhere.

Is there any other companies on the same level or even better than ZL?

TooManyGizmos

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

Many of the headlamps I read about in previous threads in this headlamp forum would be better than a Zebra light for running/jogging .......... take your pick .

Zebra would be too dim with it's broad - unfocused flood beam. (IMO)

davidt1

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi all,

I am new to flash lights, and today was browsing the net for some info. Almost bought Petzl, but I was lucky enough to find this forum ;)

I am looking for a headlamp for jogging and running. The requirements are simple: convenient to use, most lightweight and most powerful LED on the marker.

I have been looking at Zebralight H501, which I like due to standard AA baterry/rechargeable. It is much more practical to cary AA (or AAA) batteries, plus they are available everywhere.

I have jogged with the H501 attached to my waist. It worked. The H501 has a fairly limited throw/range of about 10 feet. If that's OK with you, then it should work fine. Zebralight will have some new reflectored headlamps in about 2 months. The new lights with reflectors with have more throw than the H501, if that's what you want.

Here is an interesting quote from member hopkins from the "New Black Diamond Sprinter" thread. He described the impressions various beams had on him in use:

"Recently we were hiking out to the car at 3am due to