Fishing

choppedliver

Newly Enlightened
Hello to all! New here, but have been reading the posts for about a week now. I have a "rusty" degree in electronics, but I know nothing about modding flashlights so all this is new territory for me, but I am a quick learner.

Was wondering if you guys could help me out with a project Ive had in my head for a while. I have searched the forum already and have not found a solution.

I have a 3ft long piece of pvc with a mr16 50watt halogen bulb siliconed into the end. The 3ft long pvc is 3/4" diameter but can be bigger. The mr16 fits nicely into a piece of 2" pvc if I recall correctly, and I just run lamp cord to alligator clips and clamp on to a 12v lawnmower sealed lead acid battery towed behind on a float. So power is not a problem. The problem is even a halogen 50 watt will drain a battery after a few hours.

Anyway, it looks like this. The light is mounted 45 degrees from the shaft.

\ 3ft pvc
\
\ _ mr16 bulb

It looks like the ssc p7 bin c would have as much lumens if not more than my 50 watt halogen. A little more, a little less, not a big deal. It's in the ball park.

I'd like to have submersible solution using the p7, using cheap pvc or perhaps aluminum tubing. I have a TIG/GTAW machine also.

I've got two ideas. One powered from the 12v battery, and one with "c" or "d" cells in the 3 ft tube.

Ive been reading about buck and boost , direct drive, FAQ's, etc, but still learning and very anxious to get started just need some help... whew... it's a whole 'nother world out there. The more challenging aspect I think will be trying to make this thing submersible. It doesn't have to withstand water pressure, as it will only be submerged a max of 3 ft.

All help appreciated! I look forward to your comments and hope I can be of assistance to you guys once I get some experience under my belt.

spencer

Enlightened