my garage-built Riegel LED Light

marokero

Newly Enlightened
Bear with me as this is my first post here:

http://marokero.com/Riegel/

I've decided to name it after the star in the Orion constellation, Riegel ;) I'm a photographer by trade, and not thrilled by the prices and output of current commercially available lights, I decided to build my own. It took a few months to finalize the design, gather up the parts, have some aluminum pieces machined, make a stop at the ER to get my middle finger stitched (a stupid mistake while drilling one of the aluminum pieces), refining the design, and then assembling everything. I wanted it to be a flood light, but eventually I will figure out a way to attach a reflector to concentrate the light a bit. I used six EndorStar 7007s, six Luxdrive 3021 BuckPucks, a motherboard northbridge heatsink and fan combo, and a 261Wh LiFePO battery (12.8V & 20.4Ah). I needed the battery pack to be rugged enough to be put down on wet ground, hence the Pelican cases. The output is very bright, one full stop brighter than Litepanels MicroPRO that a lot of videographers and some photographers are using nowadays. I didn't know how to use a single dimmer/potentiometer to adjust output, so I just put two secondary switches to cut power from 100% to 50%. But a problem arised when instead of three LEDs being on at 50%, there are four. I checked the connections and soldering points, and I don't see any problems... weird. It's helped me through a wedding already, and during the reception, even at 50% (more like ~70%) output it eclipsed the video lights from all videographers! I did use it to help light the scene for my videographer friend, so he loved it :p